Ted M. Burns Humanism in Neurology Award – 2023

2023 recipient

Deanna Saylor, MD, MHS

The Ted M. Burns Humanism in Neurology Award recognizes the influence of the most benevolent and innovative in the field of neurology, celebrates neurologists whose work embodies humanism, and inspires neurologists to improve health care delivery and the lives of their colleagues and patients. Funded by the Ted M. Burns Humanism in Neurology Award Fund of the American Brain Foundation.

Dr. Saylor is an Associate Professor of Neurology at Johns Hopkins, but spends the majority of the year in Zambia, where she started the country’s first Neurology residency program and first neurology inpatient service, and continues to lead the neurology clinical and research enterprise at the University Teaching Hospital in Lusaka, Zambia. Her desire to improve not only neurologic care in sub-Saharan Africa but to establish a capacity for continuing to provide outstanding care by training future leaders in neurology there, has led to her choices and her impactful career.