Back to Leadership

Raymond Roos, MD, FAAN

Vice Chair

Dr. Raymond Roos received an A.B. from Columbia College and M.D. from SUNY Downstate Medical Center.  Following two years at the NIH studying prion diseases, he pursued a Neurology residency followed by a fellowship in Neurovirology and Neuroimmunology at Johns Hopkins University.  He has been a member of the Department of Neurology at the University of Chicago except for a year in the Department of Cellular, Viral and Molecular Biology at the University of Utah and in the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics at the University of California, Irvine. He has served as Associate Chair of Education and then Chairman of the Department of Neurology at the University of Chicago. He is presently Director of the Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis clinic and the Marjorie and Robert E. Straus Professor in Neurological Science.

Dr. Roos is an Associate Editor of Neurology Genetics, Editor-in-Chief of MedLink (an on-line Neurology text), and serves on the Editorial Board of Virology and as a member of the FDA Cellular Tissues, and Gene Therapies Advisory Committee. He is a Fellow of the American Association of the Advancement of Science, a member of the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars, and received the Dr. Frank L. Babbott Memorial award from the SUNY Downstate Alumni Fund.  Dr. Roos previously served on the Editorial Board of the Journal of Neuroimmunology, the Journal of NeuroVirology, and the Annals of Neurology. He was a member of an NIH Neurology  Study Section, an NIH Virology Study Section, the FDA Vaccines and Related Biological Products Advisory Committee (chairing the Committee 1995-1996), the FDA Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathies Advisory Committee, the National Academy of Sciences Institute of Medicine (IOM) Committee to Examine Multiple Sclerosis, the IOM Committee to examine Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathies, the National Multiple Sclerosis Society Research Programs Advisory Committee (chairing the Committee from 2007-2009), and the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) Science Committee (chairing the AAN Basic Science Subcommittee 2004-2009).