Back to Leadership

Carlayne E. Jackson, MD, FAAN

Carlayne E. Jackson, MD, FAAN, is a professor of neurology and otolaryngology at the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio (UTHSCSA), where she serves as chair of the Department of Neurology and holds the Edna Smith Dielmann Distinguished University Chair. Dr. Jackson is the President of the American Academy of Neurology, the American Brain Foundation’s founder and research partner.

Jackson is a graduate of Texas A&M University, where she received a Bachelor of Science degree in chemical engineering. She obtained her medical degree at UTHSCSA, where she subsequently completed her neurology residency training and clinical neurophysiology fellowship. She has obtained board subspecialty certification in both clinical neurophysiology and neuromuscular medicine. She is a graduate of the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) program sponsored by Drexel University College of Medicine.

Jackson serves as medical director for the South Texas ALSA Center of Excellence and the South Texas MDA Clinic. She is a member of the Western ALS Study Group, Northeast ALS Research Group, and the Muscle Study Group. She has participated in over 70 multicenter clinical trials in the areas of ALS, muscular dystrophy, and myasthenia gravis and has published over 260 abstracts, journal articles, and book chapters.