Board of Directors


Kevin P. Goodno, Chair
Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.

Susan Schneider Williams, BFA, Vice Chair
Susan Schneider Fine Art

A. Gordon Smith, MD, FAAN, Secretary
VCU Health Systems, Department of Neurology

Ralph F. Józefowicz, MD, FAAN, Treasurer
University of Rochester Medical Center

John C. Mazziotta, MD, PhD, FAAN, Immediate Past Chair
Vice Chancellor of UCLA Health Sciences

Walter F. Mondale, Honorary Chair


David W. Dodick, MD, FACP, FRCP (C), FAAN
Mayo Clinic Arizona

David Eagleman, PhD
Neuroscientist & Entrepreneur

James A. Essey
TemPositions Group

Dan Gasby
Author, Alzheimer’s & Brain Health Advocate

Robert C. Griggs, MD, FAAN
University of Rochester Medical Center

James C. Grotta, MD, FAAN
Memorial Hermann–Texas Medical Center

Shafali Jeste, MD, FAAN
University of California Los Angeles

Sharon L. Klein
President, Family Wealth, Eastern Region
Wilmington Trust, N.A.

Suzanne Miller
Empire State Properties

Ronald Petersen, PhD, MD, FAAN
Mayo Clinic

Jeffrey Rosenfeld, MD, PhD, FAAN
Loma Linda University School of Medicine

Martin Shenkman, CPA, MBA, PFS, AEP, JD
Shenkman Law

Lisa M. Shulman, MD, FAAN
University of Maryland

Ben Utecht
Former NFL World Champion, National Concussion Advocate

Ex Officio Directors

James C. Stevens, MD, FAAN
Allied Physicians, Inc.

Joseph I. Sirven, MD, FAAN
Mayo Clinic

Ex Officio, Non-Voting Directors

Jane Ransom, Executive Director
American Brain Foundation

Catherine M. Rydell, CAE, Chief Executive Officer
American Academy of Neurology

Honorary Directors

Rich Clifford

Richard Essey

Leeza Gibbons

Billy McLaughlin

Research Advisory Committee

Robert C. Griggs, MD, FAAN, Chair
University of Rochester

Raymond Roos, MD, FAAN, Vice Chair
University of Chicago

Carsten Bonnemann, MD
Porter Neuroscience Research Center

Jose E. Cavazos, MD, PhD, FAAN
University of Texas Health – San Antonio

Merit Cudkowicz, MD, MSC
Massachusetts General Hospital

James C. Grotta, MD, FAAN
Memorial Hermann – Texas Medical

Mark F. Mehler, MD, FAAN
Albert Einstein College of Medicine

John Morris, MD, FAAN
Washington University

Ralph Sacco, MD, MS, FAAN, FAHA
University of Miami

Eugene Scharf, MD
Mayo Clinic

Ira Shoulson, MD, FAAN
Georgetown University

Phyllis C. Zee, MD, PhD
Northwestern University Medical School

Honor your heroes in the fight against brain disease.