Commitment to Cures 2024

Join us in Denver the evening of Saturday, April 13, 2024 for the Annual Commitment to Cures Gala, an inspiring evening that celebrates and supports brain disease research.

Learn about recent breakthroughs in brain disease research and hear extraordinary stories of hope from people impacted by brain disease. Kristen Aguirre, a journalist, speaker, disability advocate and young stroke survivor will be the evening’s emcee.

Our vision of life without brain disease is possible and we won’t stop until we get there.

Commitment to Cures registration has closed, but you can still donate below to support the event!

Event Date: Saturday, April 13th, 2024

Cocktail Reception: 6:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Dinner & Program: 7:00 p.m.

Location: Hyatt Regency Denver at Colorado Convention Center

For event inquiries, please contact [email protected] or call 866-770-7570. 

Public Leadership In Neurology Award

Cam Heyward

Cam Heyward, the 2023 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year and Defensive Tackle for the Pittsburgh Steelers, will be recognized for his outstanding efforts in raising awareness about brain cancer and enhancing the well-being of individuals and families affected by brain tumors. It was the brain tumors that ultimately led to his father, Craig “Ironhead” Heyward’s unfortunate passing. In memory of his father, a former NFL fullback and dedicated education advocate, the Heyward House Foundation has given over $60,000 to the Southeastern Brain Tumor Foundation since 2016, this includes donations and scholarship funding for the Voices of Hope Scholarship that gives out $10,000 annually to assist brain tumor patients and their families in pursuing higher education.

In 2015, Heyward established the Heyward House Foundation, a testament to his commitment to addressing childhood hunger, combating cancer, promoting literacy, and supporting both students and educators. His philanthropic endeavors underscore his unwavering dedication to making a positive impact in various spheres of community welfare.

Scientific Breakthrough Award

Bruce Ovbiagele, MD, MSc, MAS, MBA, MLS, FAAN

Dr. Ovbiagele will be honored for his transformative work in health equity and inclusion. His research focuses on the development, dissemination, and translation of evidence-based behavioral interventions into clinical practice and community settings to improve stroke outcomes for underserved and vulnerable populations. He has also helped to train, mentor, and inspire individuals from underrepresented groups in medicine to conduct high-quality research. Dr. Ovbiagele’s impact on the field has been tremendous; his research and role as a mentor have made the field and the atmosphere for discovery immensely better.


Kristen Aguirre

Kristen Aguirre is a journalist, speaker, and disability advocate. She’s worked across the country, previously covering news in Asheville, Denver, Kalamazoo, Flint, and Quincy, Illinois. During her time in Denver, her life completely changed. At 30 years old, she suffered an ischemic stroke that left the entire left side of her body completely paralyzed and spent months recovering. She was able to gain the majority of her mobility back and now uses her voice to empower other traumatic brain injury survivors. She is also a fierce advocate for mental health support and disability rights.

Founder Sponsor

Discovery Sponsor

Researcher Sponsor

Investigator Sponsor

Hope Sponsor

Support Sponsor

Advocate Sponsor